Computer indeed is an amazing work of man, it responds to a specific set of instructions in a well-defined manner and can execute a prerecorded list of instructions. When I was studying in high school, college and even now, there were times that I wished I could do what computer can perform, such as storing all the information I have learned for the whole year without forgetting them, so that I can get perfect scores in all of my exams.

      Before attending school, I can first recall my father was my first teacher, he taught me how to write the alphabet and my name. Anyway, when they enrolled me in a public school, my first teacher in grade one was Ms. Gloria, but I cannot remember her last name anymore. My classroom was not too big; it was just enough to house 30 pupils. It was equipped with the simple green chalkboard, usually newly painted at the beginning of the year. It had bulletin and display boards on the wall where we can see our teacher’s announcement and our works. The desk arrangements are in rows and sometimes grouped into five when we are doing group work.

        If I were to recall my remotest childhood memory I had, it did not take me too long to retrieve some of them. Actually, I can remember a few, there was a time when the sun nearly set, I and my sister were sitting and eating just rice with soy sauce in front of our house made of bamboo, with vegetable plants around our backyard, waiting for our mother to arrive from selling food at the market. I think I was four years old during that time because it happened before we moved to the next town. There was a time when I can also remember the moment I was crying and waiting for my mother outside our house because it was turning dark outside and I felt worried why she was not home yet. The information I have retrieved when I was still young explains the nature of long-term memory where I was able to remember something that happened a long time ago.

         My teacher taught me some memorizing strategies when I was in high school. If I am not mistaken, it is called mnemonics, wherein I used an abbreviated word that means something else or using acronyms by mixing all of the beginning letters of a word when remembering enumeration type of questions. I even used names to recall particular information and associate it with related image or picture. In remembering long formulas in Math, I usually divide or chunk the numbers in groups to easily remember them.

       Based on my own experience, paying more attention is a big factor that positively influences my ability to remember information. It is really effective to remember information when you focus on listening at the same time digesting what you are hearing or reading. On the other hand, not paying attention will not help you recall information you need to know. Cramming is also a negative way of retrieving an information you need to know, honestly speaking, when I cram, I cannot assure that I can give definitely exact details of what is being asked. However, I can extract some information I need when I start to focus recalling them.

        Taking this subject is really an eye-opener to me because I have learned a lot from the concept of learning theories and their application and how they affect students’ learning strategies. I have understood that the ways or teaching practices of teacher influence my learning strategies because; these are essential for my understanding and improving my ability to learn and influence my motivation and achievement. I have realized that very good teaching practice is related to effective classroom learning and student outcomes. There are learning theories needed to be used by the teacher and steps on how to improve current teaching practices to become efficient in class. I have also understood the importance of incorporating constructivism, behaviorism or cognitivist approaches in teaching to have a variety of activities for students. It is also very crucial for a teacher to use a wider range of instructional strategies, or teaching styles and techniques to cater different students’ learning ability.

        Based on the modules I have read, it is also significant for a teacher to know the right instructional design to be used in the class because this helps students make sense of information and for a teacher to create effective and meaningful lessons.

         On my part, developing my learning strategies based on what I have learned from school helps me enhance my ability to achieve better results. However, sometimes I independently research, understand and apply what I am reading from the Internet and observing the things and events around me. This made me conclude that becoming successful with my schooling not just depends on the way teachers teach me in class, but also depends on how I use different learning strategies with my studies.